Vision and Mission

“Art is something which lies in the slender margins between the real and the unreal.” Chikamatsu Monzaemon

Our Work

As a museum for international puppet theatre, we make cultural history from various nations around the world a subject of discussion. More than 30,000 exhibits were amassed by the collector Fritz Fey, and about 1,000 can be seen in the museum. The exhibition displays the diversity of puppetry traditions and emphasizes its importance to this day. Our museum is divided into differently themed rooms. We offer a comprehensive insight into the art of puppet theatre that spans German funfairs and European popular theatre and takes you to the influence of religion in Asian puppetry and even African rites.

Our Vision

The Museum of Theatre Puppets is an important location for the communication and documentation of international puppet theatre. The concept of the exhibition combines the historical connections with current developments through content and didactic design. The museum and the cultural life of the city of Lübeck is trans-regionally networked and enriched with events through cross-cutting cooperation with other establishments, institutions and individuals.

Our Mission

The Museum of Theatre Puppets conveys the history and significance of puppet theatre of the past three centuries. Our exhibition deals intensively with the different designs and developments of this form of art and illustrates the diversity of traditions. The international nature of the collection makes the relations between different parts of the world visible. Our exhibits give their respective origins an identity and reflect the cultural history of different nations. With special exhibitions, joint cooperation and the development of a didactic guiding concept, the Museum of Theatre Puppets fulfils its educational and cultural mission while supporting simultaneously scientific regeneration and documentation in the field of puppet theatre. 

Opening hours

The Museum of Theatre Puppets will be closed for two years while the buildings will be renovated. The buildings, some of which date to the 16th century need to be restored, and the 35 year old exhibition will be updated. The work is scheduled to begin in January 2018.

Entrance fee

Adults
7.00 EUR
Pupils, students 3.50 EUR
Children (6-12 years) 2.50 EUR

How to find us

TheaterFigurenMuseum Lübeck

Kolk 14 · 23552 Lübeck · Germany
Phone: +49 (0)451 786-26
Fax: +49 (0)451 784-36

Map directions

Diese Seite wird unterstützt von LYNET

Vision und Mission

Das TheaterFigurenMuseum ist thematisch mit den renommierten Spezialsammlungen des Münchner Stadtmuseums und der Puppentheatersammlung der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden verwandt und ein fester Bestandteil der Lübecker Museumslandschaft.

Unsere Arbeit

Als Museum für internationales Figurentheater thematisieren wir Kulturgeschichte aus verschiedenen Nationen der ganzen Welt. Mehr als 30.000 Exponate wurden von dem Sammler Fritz Fey zusammengetragen, rund 1.000 sind im Museum zu sehen. Die Ausstellung vermittelt die Vielfalt der Puppenspieltraditionen und betont ihre Bedeutung bis heute. Unser Museum ist in verschiedene Themenräume aufgeteilt. Vom Jahrmarkt in Deutschland, europäischen Volkstheater bis hin zum Einfluss der Religion im asiatischen Puppenspiel und afrikanischen Riten bieten wir einen umfassenden Einblick in die Kunst des Figurentheaters.

Unsere Vision

Das TheaterFigurenMuseum ist ein bedeutender Standort für die Vermittlung und Dokumentation des internationalen Figurentheaters. Das Konzept der Ausstellung verbindet durch die inhaltliche und didaktische Ausgestaltung historische Zusammenhänge mit gegenwärtigen Entwicklungen. Durch themenübergreifende Kooperationen mit anderen Einrichtungen, Institutionen und Einzelpersonen wird das Museum überregional vernetzt und bereichert mit Veranstaltungen das kulturelle Leben der Stadt Lübeck.

Unsere Mission

Das TheaterFigurenMuseum vermittelt die Geschichte und die Bedeutung des Figurentheaters aus drei Jahrhunderten. Unsere Ausstellung setzt sich intensiv mit den unterschiedlichen Gestaltungen und Entwicklungen dieser Darstellungsform auseinander und veranschaulicht die Vielfalt der Traditionen. Durch den internationalen Charakter der Sammlung werden die Zusammenhänge zwischen den einzelnen Erdteilen sichtbar gemacht. Unsere Exponate schaffen Identität zu ihrer Herkunft und spiegeln die Kulturgeschichte verschiedener Nationen wider. Mit Sonderausstellungen, Kooperationen und der Entwicklung eines didaktischen Führungskonzepts erfüllt das TheaterFigurenMuseum seinen Bildungs- und Kulturauftrag und unterstützt gleichzeitig die wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung und Dokumentation im Bereich des Figurentheaters.

Adresse / Kontakt

TheaterFigurenMuseum gGmbH

Kolk 14 · 23552 Lübeck
Tel: +49 (0)451 786-26
info(at)theaterfigurenmuseum.de

Zur Anfahrtsskizze

Diese Seite wird unterstützt von LYNET